Rafa\’s Corner of Nonsense, Part Deux

… where Rafa\’s thoughts see the light of day…

Children: blessings from God, or de– TIMMY, I TOLD YOU TO GET OFF THAT TABLE!! NOW!! 

Whenever I am in a public place, I always get the impression that parents, contrary to being happy to be with their children, seem peeved and ill-tempered.

Aren’t children supposed to be a gift from God? A blessing most sublime? I mean, how long does that honeymoon last? How long does it take to go from “She is the most beautiful baby in the whole world and I am the happiest person in the world!” to “OHMYGODWHYWON’TSHESTOPCRYING?!?!?! LORDPLEASETAKEMENOW!!!”?

Sure, you may say that we are more likely to notice someone in a bad mood than someone being loving, especially since a shouting parent is harder to miss than a quiet, loving embrace (and, if you were the one who said this to me, you can re-state it). 🙂 I agree that there may be some truth to this, but in today’s society I’d be more likely to notice parents being loving and sweet to their children than parents being impatient and in a bad mood, simply because I see it so seldom (plus, emotional displays are something I am quite likely to appreciate, since I scored 29/30 in the “Feeling” scale of the Myers-Briggs psychological test — which means I am always one forlorn violin solo away from bursting into tears).

So, which is it, folks? Are children, much like everything else in our lives, things we really want and when we get, the magic “wears off”? Or is there something special about children that even those parents who seem to be plotting murder are, underneath it all, actually happy to have their kids?

July 6, 2006 - Posted by | Thinker

8 Comments »

  1. Rafa, I think you should ask Gerardo this question in about two months!!

    Comment by Angelica | August 28, 2006 | Reply

  2. I see you’ve moved.
    http://notrobsstuff.blogspot.com/2006/06/happy-fathers-day.html Kid’s are much better when they’ve left the house.

    Comment by Robguy | August 29, 2006 | Reply

  3. Angelica, I hope the magic does not wear off so quickly! Surely until the “terrible twos” are parents not completely sorry for having had the kid… right? 🙂

    Comment by rafaeln | September 11, 2006 | Reply

  4. Rob, yes, I moved, and I see you found the new blog, so all is well. 😀

    I can totally see why kids are much better after they’ve left the house: that’s why being a grandparent rules!! You enjoy the kids, you pamper them, and then when they get cranky and obnoxious, you kiss them goodbye and they’re someone else’s problem. 😉

    Comment by rafaeln | September 11, 2006 | Reply

  5. Dude, the thing is that there’s nothing better than another person’s baby. They are cute, you play w/ then but when you get tired or they take a crap, you can always hand them over. People who forget this simple fact of life are those who got lost in the “oh but they are so cute” stage and wnated one of their own. Suckers!

    Comment by Ama | October 5, 2006 | Reply

  6. Ama, that’s why parents are so eager to become grand-parents! All the cuteness, all the love, none of the ass-wiping! 😀

    Comment by rafaeln | October 5, 2006 | Reply

  7. Hey, the idea of eating children is not a new one either, for the sake of humanity:

    http://www.uoregon.edu/~rbear/modest.html

    and I believe this was conceived from the Greeks or Romans. Great satire…

    Comment by Cassie | August 13, 2008 | Reply

  8. Cassie, I am not sure who was talking about eating children, but it’s good to know Greeks and/or Romans were into that, hehe. Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

    Comment by Rafa | August 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment